DSC 40B – Theoretical Foundations of Data Science II


This Week

Conclusion 🏁

Lecture 17 — Kruskal's Algorithm

  • 📖 Reading Section 3.5 in course notes
  • 🎞️ Slides Not yet posted...

Lecture 18 — Complexity Theory (Optional)

  • 📖 Reading None
  • 🎞️ Slides Not yet posted...

Lab 9

Due Sunday, Jun 11 at 23:59 PM

Homework 9

Due Wednesday, Jun 14 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 9

  • Worksheet not yet posted...
past weeks

Week 8

Minimum Spanning Trees

Midterm 02 on Thursday, Jun 01

Lecture 16 — Minimum Spanning Trees and Prim's Algorithm

Week 7

Weighted Shortest Paths

Lecture 14 — Bellman-Ford

Lecture 15 — Dijkstra's Algorithm

Lab 8

Was due Sunday, May 28 at 23:59 PM

Homework 8

Was due Wednesday, May 31 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 8

Week 6

Graph Search

Lecture 12 — BFS for Shortest Paths

Lecture 13 — Depth-First Search

Lab 7

Was due Sunday, May 21 at 23:59 PM

Homework 7

Was due Wednesday, May 24 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 7

Week 5

Graph Theory

Lecture 10 — Graph Theory

Lecture 11 — Breadth First Search

Lab 6

Was due Sunday, May 14 at 23:59 PM

Homework 6

Was due Wednesday, May 17 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 6

Week 4

Hashing

Midterm 01 on Thursday, May 04

Lecture 9 — Hashing

Lab 5

Was due Sunday, May 07 at 23:59 PM

Homework 5

Was due Wednesday, May 10 at 23:59 PM

Week 3

Faster Selection

Lecture 7 — Quickselect

Lecture 8 — Binary Search Trees

Lab 4

Was due Sunday, Apr 30 at 23:59 PM

Homework 4

Was due Wednesday, May 03 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 4

Week 2

Recursion and Sorting

Lecture 5 — Recurrences and Binary Search

Lecture 6 — Sorting

Lab 3

Was due Sunday, Apr 23 at 23:59 PM

Homework 3

Was due Wednesday, Apr 26 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 3

Week 1

Time Complexity

Lecture 3 — Asymptotic Time Complexity, pt. II

Lecture 4 — Expected Time and Lower Bounds

Lab 2

Was due Sunday, Apr 16 at 23:59 PM

Homework 2

Was due Wednesday, Apr 19 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 2

Week 0

Introduction

Welcome to DSC 40B!

Here is how to get started:

  • Read the syllabus.
  • Join our Campuswire message board and Gradescope with the email invitations you received earlier this week. If you didn't receive emails, you can use access code 3JNYZ3 for Gradescope and code 8239 for Campuswire.
  • The first lecture is on Tuesday, April 04 at 3:30 PM in WLH 2204.
  • The first discussion is on Thursday, April 06 at 8:00 PM on Zoom.

See you in lecture!

Lecture 1 — Introduction

Lecture 2 — Asymptotic Time Complexity, pt. I

Lab 1

Was due Sunday, Apr 09 at 23:59 PM

Homework 1

Was due Wednesday, Apr 12 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 1

future weeks

Week 10

Final Exam Week

Redemption Exams on Monday, Jun 12