DSC 40B – Theoretical Foundations of Data Science II


This Week

Final Exam Week

Redemption Exams (Prof. Wang) on Thursday, Mar 23
Redemption Exams (Prof. Eldridge) on Tuesday, Mar 21
past weeks

Week 9

Conclusion 🏁

Lecture 17 — Kruskal's Algorithm

Lecture 18 — Complexity Theory (Optional)

  • 📖 Reading None
  • 🎞️ Slides (Prof. Eldridge)
  • 🎞️ Slides (Prof. Wang) Not yet posted...

Lab 9

Was due Sunday, Mar 19 at 23:59 PM

Homework 9

Was due Wednesday, Mar 22 at 23:59 PM

Week 8

Minimum Spanning Trees

Midterm 02 on Thursday, Mar 09

Lecture 16 — Minimum Spanning Trees and Prim's Algorithm

Week 7

Weighted Shortest Paths

Lecture 14 — Bellman-Ford

Lecture 15 — Dijkstra's Algorithm

Lab 8

Was due Sunday, Mar 05 at 23:59 PM

Homework 8

Was due Wednesday, Mar 08 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 8

Week 6

Graph Search

Lecture 12 — BFS for Shortest Paths

Lecture 13 — Depth-First Search

Lab 7

Was due Sunday, Feb 26 at 23:59 PM

Homework 7

Was due Wednesday, Mar 01 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 7

Week 5

Graph Theory

Lecture 10 — Graph Theory

Lecture 11 — Breadth First Search

Lab 6

Was due Sunday, Feb 19 at 23:59 PM

Homework 6

Was due Wednesday, Feb 22 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 6

Week 4

Hashing

Midterm 01 on Thursday, Feb 09

Lecture 9 — Hashing

Lab 5

Was due Sunday, Feb 12 at 23:59 PM

Homework 5

Was due Wednesday, Feb 15 at 23:59 PM

Week 3

Faster Selection

Lecture 7 — Quickselect

Lecture 8 — Binary Search Trees

Lab 4

Was due Sunday, Feb 05 at 23:59 PM

Homework 4

Was due Wednesday, Feb 08 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 4

Week 2

Recursion and Sorting

Lecture 5 — Recurrences and Binary Search

Lecture 6 — Sorting

Lab 3

Was due Sunday, Jan 29 at 23:59 PM

Homework 3

Was due Wednesday, Feb 01 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 3

Week 1

Time Complexity

Lecture 3 — Asymptotic Time Complexity, pt. II

Lecture 4 — Expected Time and Lower Bounds

Lab 2

Was due Sunday, Jan 22 at 23:59 PM

Homework 2

Was due Wednesday, Jan 25 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 2

Week 0

Introduction

Welcome to DSC 40B!

Here is how to get started:

  • Read the syllabus.
  • Join our Campuswire message board and Gradescope with the email invitations you received earlier this week. If you didn't receive emails, you can use access code 5726P5 for Gradescope and code 8916 for Campuswire.
  • The first lectures are on Tuesday, January 10 at the following times and places:
    • Prof. Justin Eldridge: 12:30 PM in MANDE B-210.
    • Prof. Yusu Wang: 2:00 PM in RWAC 0121.
  • The first discussions are on Thursday, January 12 at the following times and places
    • Prof. Justin Eldridge: 5:00 PM in MANDE B-210.
    • Prof. Yusu Wang: 8:00 PM in PETER 104.

See you in lecture!

Lecture 1 — Introduction

Lecture 2 — Asymptotic Time Complexity, pt. I

Lab 1

Was due Sunday, Jan 15 at 23:59 PM

Homework 1

Was due Wednesday, Jan 18 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 1